A Fishkeeping forum. FishKeepingBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » FishKeepingBanter.com forum » rec.aquaria.marine » Reefs
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Elertricty



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 1st 08, 07:55 PM posted to rec.aquaria.marine.reefs
NoSpam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 56
Default Elertricty

Would I have to put in a separate breaker for the tank? (eventually) a
90g reef, pumps, skimmer, etc. MH lights plus any other lights I need,
chiller.

I'm disabled and spend 20 hours/day in bed so on the same line
(without adding a separate breaker) will be a computer, lg. LCD TV,
recorder, A/C.

Probable too much? I'm in an apartment and either have to get
permission (very hard to do), or have someone do it on the weekend.

Thanks, Bob


  #2  
Old August 2nd 08, 05:29 PM posted to rec.aquaria.marine.reefs
Don Geddis
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 93
Default Elertricty

"NoSpam" wrote on Fri, 1 Aug 2008 :
Would I have to put in a separate breaker for the tank? (eventually) a
90g reef, pumps, skimmer, etc. MH lights plus any other lights I need,
chiller.


A chiller would likely draw as much power as everything else put together.
Concentrate on that first, to figure out your power load.

MH lights are second.

Everything else is in the noise.

on the same line (without adding a separate breaker) will be a computer,
lg. LCD TV, recorder, A/C.


A/C is air conditioner?

The electronics don't take much power. You'll have no problem with computer,
TV (esp. LCD), pumps, skimmer, lights, etc. on the same circuit.

But an air conditioner and/or a chiller is a different story. That's where
you have to watch your power consumption.

-- Don
__________________________________________________ _____________________________
Don Geddis http://reef.geddis.org/
Democracy is the theory that the common people know what they want and deserve
to get it good and hard. -- H. L. Mencken
  #3  
Old August 4th 08, 12:08 AM posted to rec.aquaria.marine.reefs
expat[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 44
Default Elertricty

On Aug 2, 11:29*am, Don Geddis wrote:
"NoSpam" wrote on Fri, 1 Aug 2008 :

Would I have to put in a separate breaker for the tank? (eventually) a
90g reef, pumps, skimmer, etc. MH lights plus any other lights I need,
chiller.


A chiller would likely draw as much power as everything else put together..
Concentrate on that first, to figure out your power load.

MH lights are second.

Everything else is in the noise.

on the same line (without adding a separate breaker) will be a computer,
lg. LCD TV, recorder, A/C.


A/C is air conditioner?

The electronics don't take much power. *You'll have no problem with computer,
TV (esp. LCD), pumps, skimmer, lights, etc. on the same circuit.

But an air conditioner and/or a chiller is a different story. *That's where
you have to watch your power consumption.

* * * * -- Don
__________________________________________________ _________________________*____
Don Geddis * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *http://reef.geddis.org/
Democracy is the theory that the common people know what they want and deserve
to get it good and hard. *-- H. L. Mencken


Just from what you mentioned your more than likely over on amperage
for a typical circuit found in residential housing and apartments. Its
highly unlikely that there is more than one feed feeding any given
room in an apartment, so just accessories alone will be pretty well
loading up that single circuit. Add in A/C, chiller and MH or even a
decent set of compact florexcents and you can prety well bet your way
over on load. Your best bet is total up all items as far as amperage
draw is concerned, and see what they all add up to, and take it from
there. Most cirucits are either going to have 15 amps (14 ga wired)
or 20 amps(12 ga wired).
  #4  
Old October 5th 08, 08:59 AM posted to rec.aquaria.marine.reefs
Aquarium Fish
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 13
Default Elertricty

You would be wise to use a circit breaker anyway, as water an electricity
don't mix. Always best to play it safe.

--
http://www.aquariumfish.me


  #5  
Old October 6th 08, 02:41 PM posted to rec.aquaria.marine.reefs
John Smith[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 43
Default Elertricty If you can't spell it, you better stay away from it...but either way....Aquarium Fish is a moron

On Oct 5, 2:59*am, "Aquarium Fish"
wrote:
You would be wise to use a circit breaker anyway, as water an electricity
don't mix. Always best to play it safe.

--http://www.aquariumfish.me


Go get a ****ING clue Aquarium Fish, Your more than just a dollarshort
and a day late, you ****ing moron!
  #6  
Old October 6th 08, 05:39 PM posted to rec.aquaria.marine.reefs
Jürgen Exner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 24
Default Elertricty

"Aquarium Fish" wrote:
You would be wise to use a circit breaker anyway, as water an electricity
don't mix. Always best to play it safe.


Actually a fuse or circuit breaker will be of limited use, because for
them it doesn't matter if the current powers a legitimate load like a
lamp or a pump or a heater or if a human heart is the undesired
consumer.

Around water _ALWAYS_ use a GFCI. It will protect you against stray
currents, a fuse/circuit breaker will not.

jue
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2018 FishKeepingBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.