A Fishkeeping forum. FishKeepingBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » FishKeepingBanter.com forum » rec.aquaria » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Mardel test strip accuracy?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 16th 05, 10:30 AM
Elaine T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Mardel test strip accuracy?

I've always shied away from test strips for aquaria because of problems
I had with pH papers when I was working in laboratories. When I
compared pH test strip readings to pH meter readings, the test strip was
less reliable and would give different readings depending on how I
dipped it.

I was looking at the Mardel 5 in 1 test strips and they test for the all
water parameters I need for a good price. Has anyone compared the
readings on Mardel strips to tried-and-true tests like Seachem or Hagen?
I'll be testing FW but am interested in anybody's observations. Are
the strips easy to read, accurate, and do they give the same reading on
repeated use?

TIA,
Elaine
--
__ Elaine T __
__' http://eethomp.com/fish.html '__

  #2  
Old January 17th 05, 04:07 AM
js1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On 2005-01-16, Elaine T wrote:

I was looking at the Mardel 5 in 1 test strips and they test for the all
water parameters I need for a good price. Has anyone compared the
readings on Mardel strips to tried-and-true tests like Seachem or Hagen?
I'll be testing FW but am interested in anybody's observations. Are
the strips easy to read, accurate, and do they give the same reading on
repeated use?


I think the accuracy of the readings all depend on what kind of
environment you are keeping. If it's a community tank with a bunch of
hardy fish, I think the 5 in 1 strips are accurate enough.


--
"I have to decide between two equally frightening options.
If I wanted to do that, I'd vote." --Duckman

  #3  
Old January 17th 05, 05:14 AM
Elaine T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

js1 wrote:
On 2005-01-16, Elaine T wrote:

I was looking at the Mardel 5 in 1 test strips and they test for the all
water parameters I need for a good price. Has anyone compared the
readings on Mardel strips to tried-and-true tests like Seachem or Hagen?
I'll be testing FW but am interested in anybody's observations. Are
the strips easy to read, accurate, and do they give the same reading on
repeated use?



I think the accuracy of the readings all depend on what kind of
environment you are keeping. If it's a community tank with a bunch of
hardy fish, I think the 5 in 1 strips are accurate enough.


A ram cichlid (M. ramirezi) with some cardinals and a baby SAE in a 5
gal. tank. Community yes. Hardy? Dunno. Cardinals and SAEs are hardy
for me, but I've never kept a ram before. I'm softening my very hard
local water by mixing some rainwater or distilled water in with it, so I
need some sort of gH and kH measure to be sure they're staying
consistent enough for a ram. It's funny - I've kept all kinds of
difficult fish, but rams have such an awful reputation that I'm a
totally worried mother hen over this little guy.

--
__ Elaine T __
__' http://eethomp.com/fish.html '__

  #4  
Old January 17th 05, 05:22 AM
js1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On 2005-01-17, Elaine T wrote:
A ram cichlid (M. ramirezi) with some cardinals and a baby SAE in a 5
gal. tank. Community yes. Hardy? Dunno. Cardinals and SAEs are hardy
for me, but I've never kept a ram before. I'm softening my very hard
local water by mixing some rainwater or distilled water in with it, so I
need some sort of gH and kH measure to be sure they're staying
consistent enough for a ram. It's funny - I've kept all kinds of
difficult fish, but rams have such an awful reputation that I'm a
totally worried mother hen over this little guy.


Good god, 5 gallons? You realize an SAE can get pretty big, right?
Mine are heading for 4" fast. My school of six cardinals are all at
least 1" right now. You may wan to look at a 20G for the fish you have.
BTW, I use Seachem's discus buffer every other water change for my tank
with containing the SAE and cardinals.


--
"I have to decide between two equally frightening options.
If I wanted to do that, I'd vote." --Duckman

  #5  
Old January 17th 05, 06:57 AM
Elaine T
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

js1 wrote:
On 2005-01-17, Elaine T wrote:

A ram cichlid (M. ramirezi) with some cardinals and a baby SAE in a 5
gal. tank. Community yes. Hardy? Dunno. Cardinals and SAEs are hardy
for me, but I've never kept a ram before. I'm softening my very hard
local water by mixing some rainwater or distilled water in with it, so I
need some sort of gH and kH measure to be sure they're staying
consistent enough for a ram. It's funny - I've kept all kinds of
difficult fish, but rams have such an awful reputation that I'm a
totally worried mother hen over this little guy.



Good god, 5 gallons? You realize an SAE can get pretty big, right?
Mine are heading for 4" fast. My school of six cardinals are all at
least 1" right now. You may wan to look at a 20G for the fish you have.
BTW, I use Seachem's discus buffer every other water change for my tank
with containing the SAE and cardinals.


My lease prohibits big tanks. *sigh* Otherwise I'd have a 75! And my
5 gallon has to be in the kitchen where it's not over the carpet.
Unfortunately BBA is a horrific, unavoidable plague around here. I'm
convinced there are spores and a magic BBA growth factor in the local
water. So, what do I do? Buy a fish that I know will solve a problem
but eventually outgrow my tank, or almost certainly watch my beautiful,
thriving Crypts smother under gross, black hair? I really don't like
either choice. Maybe Amano shrimp would work, but I haven't seen any
for sale at LFS and can't afford shipping charges on mailorder.

The fish load will be fine because the tank is heavily planted and well
lit. I tend to stuff my tanks with healthy plants and add fish until it
"seems right" and everything thrives. *shrug* Stocking is presently an
art, not a science. As for the SAE, I'm just going to see how he does.
If/when he outgrows the tank, I'll have to find him another home.

--
__ Elaine T __
__' http://eethomp.com/fish.html '__

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accuracy of Aquaria Pharm's Nitrate Test E.Otter Goldfish 1 May 17th 04 05:09 AM
Test Kit Survey Jim K Plants 12 October 14th 03 12:01 PM
High Ammonia Readings -test kits/ammonia removers Spark_001 General 0 September 27th 03 05:46 PM
Hard Water Tetras? rapdor General 7 September 14th 03 12:35 PM
Water parameter and test strip questions... Teeb Reefs 11 July 31st 03 01:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 FishKeepingBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.