A Fishkeeping forum. FishKeepingBanter.com

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » FishKeepingBanter.com forum » rec.aquaria.freshwater » General
Site Map Home Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

How do I keep a mature filter alive in a fishless tank ?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 12th 04, 04:17 PM
Alan Silver
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I keep a mature filter alive in a fishless tank ?

Hello,

Well, having had various setbacks, I finally got our new tank ready for
action. I had the filter (Eheim Ecco 2235) plugged into the old tank for
a couple of months, so it has a mature bacteria colony.

On Monday night, I switched the filter over to the new tank, ready for a
trip to the breeder to get the fish on Tuesday. Unfortunately my wife
took ill and we never got there. It looks like it's going to be next
week (at least) before we will get the fish in.

So, how do I keep the bacteria alive ? Is it as simple as dropping some
food in every couple of days ? If so, how much ? I don't want to pollute
the water either !!

Thanx for any tips.

--
Alan Silver
PSG Fish Tanks - http://fish.alansilver.co.uk/
  #2  
Old February 12th 04, 05:55 PM
Rick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I keep a mature filter alive in a fishless tank ?


"Alan Silver" wrote in message
...
Hello,

Well, having had various setbacks, I finally got our new tank ready for
action. I had the filter (Eheim Ecco 2235) plugged into the old tank for
a couple of months, so it has a mature bacteria colony.

On Monday night, I switched the filter over to the new tank, ready for a
trip to the breeder to get the fish on Tuesday. Unfortunately my wife
took ill and we never got there. It looks like it's going to be next
week (at least) before we will get the fish in.

So, how do I keep the bacteria alive ? Is it as simple as dropping some
food in every couple of days ? If so, how much ? I don't want to pollute
the water either !!

Thanx for any tips.

--
Alan Silver
PSG Fish Tanks - http://fish.alansilver.co.uk/


its that simple Alan. Drop in a pinch of food just like you were feeding the
fish and then do a water change and gravel vac prior to introducing the new
fish.

Rick


  #3  
Old February 12th 04, 06:35 PM
Alan Silver
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I keep a mature filter alive in a fishless tank ?

In message , Rick
writes
its that simple Alan. Drop in a pinch of food just like you were
feeding the fish and then do a water change and gravel vac prior to
introducing the new fish.


Thanx. It made sense, but I like to be sure ;-)

--
Alan Silver
PSG Fish Tanks - http://fish.alansilver.co.uk/
  #4  
Old February 13th 04, 01:13 PM
Dick
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I keep a mature filter alive in a fishless tank ?

On Thu, 12 Feb 2004 17:35:46 +0000, Alan Silver
wrote:

In message , Rick
writes
its that simple Alan. Drop in a pinch of food just like you were
feeding the fish and then do a water change and gravel vac prior to
introducing the new fish.


Thanx. It made sense, but I like to be sure ;-)



Cleaver solution. I wonder if the food and no fish on a new tank
would work. I wrestled with this as I wanted to setup a quarantine
tank with no fish, but ready to use when needed. I ended up keeping
fish in the tank after a black molly dumped over 50 fry into the tank.
Wouldn't you know it, almost all lived.
  #5  
Old February 15th 04, 03:40 PM
Alan Silver
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I keep a mature filter alive in a fishless tank ?

its that simple Alan. Drop in a pinch of food just like you were
feeding the fish and then do a water change and gravel vac prior to
introducing the new fish.


Thanx. It made sense, but I like to be sure ;-)


Cleaver solution. I wonder if the food and no fish on a new tank
would work. I wrestled with this as I wanted to setup a quarantine
tank with no fish, but ready to use when needed. I ended up keeping
fish in the tank after a black molly dumped over 50 fry into the tank.
Wouldn't you know it, almost all lived.


Out of interest, this does work for fishless cycling. I have heard of
people trying it with success.

I have used ammonium bicarbonate for fishless cycling. This was fast and
easy. I guess any source of ammonia should work.

--
Alan Silver
PSG Fish Tanks - http://fish.alansilver.co.uk/
  #6  
Old February 15th 04, 06:19 PM
MartinOsirus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How do I keep a mature filter alive in a fishless tank ?

easy. I guess any source of ammonia should work.

thats right! no need to fuss with pure ammonia and getting the dose right -
just use fish food
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it safe to use water polishing filter on a reef tank? Kris von Mach Reefs 9 October 27th 03 08:38 PM
How long does it take to seed a filter in an established tank? Lady Samsara General 11 September 12th 03 02:04 PM
Upgrade advise - new tank and filter system Jon General 5 August 27th 03 03:39 PM
Filter as back up for Hospital/Quarantine Tank Lady Samsara General 10 August 26th 03 04:48 AM
anaerobic filter after long power out ;( Iain Miller General 15 August 16th 03 01:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 FishKeepingBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.